Most of my photos will soon be gone!

f2417

(Some photos I took from the plane on the way back to Switzerland)

I’m afraid most of the photos in this blog will soon disappear… 😦
I received an email from Dropbox the other day saying their public folder will become private and that all the links created from that folder will be disabled.

The bad news is that most of the photos of my blog are stored there.

I can’t remember why, but back in 2011 when I started this blog I was saving my photos in my Dropbox public folder and using the shared links to add them to the blog posts. I did this for 4 years until I ran into an issue and someone from the WP support team suggested I start using the blog’s media library.

So in a couple of months when all those links stop working, the photos won’t show anymore. I could ignore this and leave my past blog posts without displaying pictures, but I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to do this. With that said, I have two options:

  • Start moving all photos from the Dropbox folder to the blog’s media library, and replace them onΒ each post.
  • Wait until March when the Dropbox changes will happen, then create new shared links for each photo and update them in all posts.

Since I have to go back and edit each post between 2011 and 2015 either way, I guess the best thing to do is to move everything here and stop using Dropbox. 😡 What would you do?

f2411

f2415

f2410

✈ ☁

26 thoughts on “Most of my photos will soon be gone!”

  1. Oh no Ines, that’s awful. I suppose the best thing might be to start saving them to the WP library? If you do a few every couple of days, it may not seem as giant a task…? Good luck with it. I do love looking at your photos! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks Sorcha! I guess you’re right, if I do it bit by bit it will be easier πŸ™‚
      I’ve been enjoying your #simplylippy challenge, I’m not commenting but I’ve been following through Instagram – the first month is almost done, good job!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Since you mentioned you have plan to revisit old blogs anyway, that means you still want to keep this blog alive. I think update the older blogs as you go may be the right thing to do. Perhaps, you may also want to start pull all photos there (may have more than what on this blog and you care to save) to help remove the pressure of time to get all posts updated.

    Good luck.

    Like

  3. I wouldn’t have the stamina myself to move everything over in old posts, but I’d definitely go for the WP option. Relying on two parties to keep everything as is just makes for two weak spots instead of one.

    Like

    1. I’m not really motivated to do it but I have to, I can’t stand the idea of having missing pictures in my old posts πŸ˜‰ You’re right, having to rely on two parties isn’t the best thing!

      Like

  4. Oh no. That sounds like a lot of work. If you didn’t do a 365 challenge in any of those years maybe it’s worth it though πŸ˜‰ I like that for my blog it has become an archive for my pictures.

    Like

    1. It does…! I also like to look at my blog as an archive, so I can’t imagine having missing photos for all posts published between those years. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sherry! The pictures are already on my computer πŸ˜‰ Dropbox is a folder in your computer that can also be accessed online. It will still be a lot of work to upload everything to WP and replace the photos on the posts… I’ll celebrate once it’s all done! πŸŽ‰

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh dear, that’s quite a dilemma. I’ve always used the WP media library, and although I’ve been blogging for 6 years now, have only used 18 % of the 3GB upload limit. I think in your case i would move everything to the WP library. It might be a lot of work but you only need to do it once.
    Hope you’ll work something out!

    Like

    1. Indeed, I’ll move everything to WP. Thanks for letting me know about the percentage you used so far, it’s good to know. I guess if we don’t upload huge files, we’re good for quite a few years! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I usually resize my files because my raw files are around 9MB each. Resizing to under 1 MB helps.
      And on a fun note – I calculated that if I keep posting at the same regularity as before, I have approx. another 15 years until I reach the 3GB limit πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  6. If you still want cloud storage, I’d recommend Google Drive.
    I would recommend doing it, because no matter how much of a pain it will be, it’ll be worth it in the end.

    Like

    1. Thanks Shrey! However, I think I’ll move everything to WP and keep all in one place to avoid having this issue again in the future. πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Yikes! So much work, I might consider starting a new blog altogether. Hope you figured it out! πŸ™‚ PS. Remember to reduce the size of your photos when saving them in the media library, so you don’t exceed your space limit.

    Like

    1. I thought about starting a new one, but I really want to keep sharing on the same space where I started πŸ™‚ Thanks for the tip! I never upload HQ photos, because of the space limit but also in case they get stolen…

      Liked by 1 person

  8. A long time ago when I started my blog I used a different host for my pictures. It was great for a few years until they put ads almost near every picture. I decided to move all the pictures on my blog and haven’t looked back. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. It’s taking a while, but I’m almost done with moving all pictures to WP! Thank you for visiting my blog πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a comment:

