Triptych | A collab photo project

flwrs

“Nothing in nature blooms all year… be patient with yourself.”

_

These photos are the result of a photography collaboration with fellow blogger & photographer Claudia Curici. We started exchanging emails a couple of months ago and the idea of doing something together came quite naturally.

We set ourselves the challenge of picking up the same type of plant and create a triptych  – a set of associated images intended to be appreciated together. No rules or guidelines, and we have no clue about what the other did. I’m so curious to check out Claudia’s triptych (make sure to have a look as well – HERE)!

I went with a really simple approach and soft editing. In the last image I decided to include a bit of my hands in the picture, to give some perspective and accentuate the delicate mood I wanted to achieve with these photos.

Oh! And the quote is one I stumbled upon not long ago and that I thought would fit this project very well. I say this because the collab was born from long email conversations about our personal struggles in regards to photography. 😉

8 thoughts on “Triptych | A collab photo project”

  1. So much fun! Beside the fact that we ended up picking two different plants, with similar looks, I enjoyed this project so much. It’s interesting that even though I live in the sunny and summery place, I chose a wintery, dark mood, and you chose an airy, light, summery one. 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, how strange – when I saw them in the options you sent from your local florist, they really looked like the same ones I could get here! 🙂
      It’s funny because it has been so dark lately around here and I was feeling so annoyed that there wasn’t enough light, that I did everything I could to shoot these images in the best (natural) light I could find in my appartement. I didn’t even think about taking advantage of the low light… but I guess it was because I had this soft mood in mind for the photos.
      I’m going to re-read your post and continue the discussion on your blog now – see you there!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ‘Red Hypericum Berries’ – that’s how yours are called 🙂 Mine are rosehips.
    That’s why I liked the project so much – I knew we will get influenced by so many different things (didn’t think we will also have different plants though, haha). Your berries look delicate, fragile, I understand why you would want a soft look. I learned so much in the process, I even figured out I actually have a good spot for natural light photography in my house, which I totally ignored before. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a nice idea! It reminds me of a seminar I attended recently where everybody was given six identical Lego bricks and the task to build a duck with them. We were 25 people and no duck was like the other. Everybody has a different imagination. This is what I like about collaborations 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment:

