Looking up | Collab photo project

A couple of months ago I exchanged a few comments in one of my posts with fellow blogger Kiki from Through a lay(wo)mans lens, we were talking about feeling uninspired with our photography. It got me thinking about how the Internet brings us together and I realized that a great thing about connecting with other bloggers is that we can support each other and not only in the comment section. So I sent her an email and suggested we do a photo collaboration to help getting our inspiration back!

We then brainstormed on a few themes for the next months and here’s the first one: Walking Through Your City Looking Up.🙂

My photos are below, make sure to check Kiki’s ones on her blog HERE.

LU1

I spotted this building from the bus, I thought it had really nice lines and with the trees all around it felt like a good picture for the theme. So I came back a few days later to get the photo. The cables from the public transports made it a bit tricky, but I finally managed to get them out the frame.

LU2

My initial idea for this photo was to take it from the other side, where you could see the bridge and the elevators. However, the composition wasn’t as good as I thought it would be. I was already leaving the place, crossing underneath the bridge when my boyfriend pointed out the view from this side wasn’t as bad. He was totally right!

LU3

When we decided on the theme this place was one of the first that came to my mind, because of this statue of a donkey looking down to the street. I immediately thought of taking a photo looking up at him hehe!

LU4

This shot was inspired by someone else who was posting photos of the city on Instagram, I saw this neighborhood in one of his pictures and took note of it. The buildings are so packed together!

_
A few days after I got these photos, I actually took one on Instagram that would have been perfect for this theme. But at the time I was shooting for the collab I somehow didn’t remember this building at all… *facepalm 🙈

LU5

Thank you Kiki for accepting to join me in this photo adventure!😉

***
PT: Uma colaboração fotográfica com outra blogger, o tema é ‘uma volta pela cidade olhando para cima’. As fotos que a Kiki tirou podem ser vistas no blogue dela aqui.

12 thoughts on “Looking up | Collab photo project

    1. Thank you! I’m looking forward to seeing your June series in a couple of weeks🙂 I wonder which color is it this time!

      Like

  1. Thanks so much for contacting me, Ines – I’m so glad we got this off the ground! Your photo choice is great, I especially like pic 2, I agree with your boyfriend that this is an interesting perspective. Also pic 3 the donkey – fabulous to encounter something like this while walking around looking up!
    Your instagram pic is absolutely gorgeous! Glad you showed it here as well.
    House 1 looks like an ivory tower, must be nice to live in there, and the houses in the last pic are awesome – very interesting architecture and great capture.
    So on we go to the next theme😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kiki🙂
      I agree, it must be very nice to live in that building and imagine all the light that room must have! Let’s move on to the next one😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome idea, it’s great that you could collaborate and help each other out! I enjoyed all these photos; it has been ages since I last took architecture-photos.. you (and your boyfriend😉 ) have a great eye for that!❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Monika! Architecture photos are a bit tricky for me, I always struggle a bit with finding the right composition & perspective. But I’m happy with these and glad with the positive feedback!
      PS: He does, I need to convince him to create an Instagram account😉

      Like

  3. Kiki’s blog sent me here – love your selections – especially the donkey. A amazed about how close those houses are – so strange for me to understand living that close to each other.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking the time to check my photos as well!🙂
      I see what you mean, I feel it’s really close too. If I’m not mistaken that neighborhood was rebuilt a couple of years ago and I think the architects wanted to replicate the medieval topography: with small streets, walkways and hallways.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m here from Kiki’s blog, too, and I love the idea behind this collaboration and that you’re both using it to get re-energized! And, yes, the donkey with those bright walls–that’s my fave!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kerry, thank you for checking my photos too🙂 It’s great to be doing this together indeed!
      Since everyone is commenting about the donkey, I ended up looking for more info online and – oops – it’s actually a horse… It’s half human, half horse!😀

      Like

Leave a comment:

