Fine Art Photography + Print shop

1

… and that’s what I have been working on the past couple of weeks:
I’m venturing into the wold of Fine Art Photography and just launched my first collection!

What’s Fine Art Photography?
Fine Art Photography is described as the production of images to fulfill the creative vision of a photographer. Also called “decor photography”, this involves selling photos that can be used as wall art.

My first collection – the GREEN collection
I love plants but I’m not very good with them… I don’t have a green thumb I guess! So I thought I would create a series of photos that I could print and display in my house, to give that green natural vibe to the place without having to actually take care of real plants.

3

I really had fun thinking about the concept and shooting the images, but I have to say: naming them was fun too! Which one is your favorite?

My shop is over at the Society6 website: society6.com/imonnetshop

2

The 6 images I created for this collection are available as: Canvas, Framed Art Prints, Art Prints, Phone Cases/Skins and Stationary Cards.

Just like I said in my last post: if I can create images that are beautiful and meaningful to me + at the same time have people who enjoy them too, who are willing to buy and support my art… then all the better!

FYI: they’re offering free worldwide shipping until tonight (midnight PT) in case you’re interested, not only for my prints but for all artwork from Society6 artists! There is some pretty cool stuff there, check it out. 😉

***
Tradução: Aqui está o projecto em que tenho estado a trabalhar! Aventurei-me no mundo da fotografia “Fine Art” e acabo de lançar a minha primeira colecção no site da Society6 AQUI. Criei esta série de fotografias porque não tenho muito jeito com plantas, então lembrei-me de as fotografar para poder decorar a casa com fotos de plantas e ter na mesma aquele ambiente verde e natural. Espreitem o site para ver os diferentes produtos disponíveis. E caso estejam interessados, a Society6 está a oferecer os portes de envio para todos os países até à meia-noite de hoje!

19 thoughts on “Fine Art Photography + Print shop”

    1. Thanks 🙂 Sure, I don’t mind at all:
      – I read forum posts of artists discussing where they have their work published and the pros/cons of each site. A lot of people were mentioning society6.
      – It was also important for me to pick one that would take care of managing the orders, printing the images and shipping to people. Etsy and Tictail seem like nice places to sell fine art photography, but having a store in those sites means you’re in charge of everything! I feel like creating and promoting my work already takes a lot of my time, so I don’t want to have all that other work on top of it.
      – Also to open a store on s6 you don’t need to submit your work for evaluation, so I thought it would be a nice place to quickly set up a store and try it out.

      While researching for different stores I saw someone saying that as a freelance artist you should be in all websites and not just pick one. “Lots of streams of income, that’s key” she said. Which makes sense! I might try to publish on other websites in the near future (but for now I will always pick the ones that have printing & shipping included).
      Do you have a store of your own?

      Like

    2. Thanks for sharing. I opened a store on zazzle a while ago. But haven’t put a lot of effort into it. The fact that they take care of everything made me be a bit too relaxed about it. I’ve been thinking about opening an etsy store. Even though as you mentioned taking care of all the printing, shipping etc is a bigger commitment.

      Liked by 1 person

    3. It’s worth a try, worst case you realize it’s too much work and you close the store 😉 Perhaps I will try it too some day. I guess the biggest challenge remains in the promotion of the art. Unless you have a big online presence and following, it really takes time and effort to share it with as many people as possible… Good luck to you!

      Like

    1. Thank you Deborah! I just saw you followed me on there, so I was able to check out your store and follow too 🙂
      Yes, during my research I saw people mentioning that not only you should connect with other artists but also keep posting regularly to see some kind of results. My goal is to create a small collection each month, I hope I will be able to keep up with that and also have enough ideas to do so!

      Like

  1. Lovely pictures! I especially like how you’ve cropped/framed them so tightly. I can definitely see them as part of someone’s very stylish interior design. Good luck with your new business, hopefully it will bloom like a flower – haha, cheesy, I know, sorry!

    Like

  2. Congratulations on opening your shop and your first collection!! I’ve thought about opening an online store also. I’m still thinking about. I admire that you’ve jumped in and done it. I wish you much success! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment:

