From Nikon D90 to Nikon D610

Hi there!
I posted some photos on Instagram and Facebook about the new dSLR camera I got this Summer, but didn’t really talk about it here.

***

In the image below you can see my new camera (Nikon D610) on the right and the old one (Nikon D90) on the left:

1

Since 2011 I’ve been shooting with the Nikon D90 which is considered a “mid-range camera” and has a DX sensor. At the time I was taking a photography course and after explaining to the teacher what I wanted to do with photography he suggested the D90. Indeed it worked perfectly for me!

Only very recently I started to feel a bit limited by the camera and started considering an upgrade.  So this Summer I decided to get the D610, which they call a “prosumer camera”, already equipped with an FX sensor (full-frame).

***

I don’t want to get too technical as it’s also not the point of this post, I just want to show you the main differences I noticed and the reasons why the D90 was starting to frustrate me a bit.

1) Lenses

Since the D90 has a cropped sensor I was not getting the exact focal length each lens has. For example, when I shoot with the 35 mm lens on the D90 the result is actually closer to an image at 50 mm full-frame equivalent (35mm x 1.5 crop factor = 52.5mm).

I took the same photo with both cameras using different focal lengths to illustrate this. I had my tripod on the same spot all the time:

2

2) Sharpness

Another thing that I wasn’t really getting with the D90 was that sharpness I saw in some images from other photographers. To be fair the D90 is a 6 year-old camera, so naturally the sensor cannot compete with what is currently available. I don’t know if you’re able to see it in the two portraits below (shot with the same lens at the same aperture), but the difference now that I have the D610 is huge, my images are so much sharper!

3

3) ISO

The ISO limitation on the D90 was also something that started to be annoying. From a certain point if I would go higher with the ISO value I would have quite some noise in my images, but with the D610 I can bump the ISO and it’s just fine!

***

Another nice thing that came with this upgrade is that now I can have 2 memory cards in the camera. There’s a cool option to set the camera to save the photos on one card and save copies on the other as a backup.

***

What’s your experience with upgrading cameras?
Do you also change when you see you’ve hit a limit?

6 thoughts on “From Nikon D90 to Nikon D610”

    1. Glad to hear that 🙂
      And I agree about most comparisons out there, they’re just too technical for some of us eheheh! When I look for easy and fun photo material reviews and comparisons I go on YouTube to the DigitalRev TV channel, you should have a look – it’s pretty cool 😉

      Like

  1. I upgraded from a D3000 to D600 and I agree with everything you’ve said! Upgrading to a full frame camera was the best choice 🙂

    Like

    1. 🙂 Thanks Stephanie!
      I checked your site – wow I love your fashion photography work, you have an amazing folio! I will be following your work on Bloglovin.

      Like

Leave a comment:

