Photographing a music festival

1

I had the opportunity to spend two nights shooting at a music festival last month. It was the first edition of the Antidote Festival in Yverdon-les-Bains, a city in Western Switzerland.

As you may have noticed I’m more into portraiture with regards to photography, so it never really crossed my mind to look for opportunities to shoot concerts. However, when the invitation came I couldn’t say no!

2

I really had a great time taking photos of the musicians on stage, it was great to be able to shoot from everywhere I wanted and get images with different angles. I felt so proud to have the photographer’s credential around my neck, it might seem silly but I was truly happy. 🙂

3

Here I am all geared up! And I took my boyfriend as my second shooter – best decision ever! Not only was it great to have his support and company, but he was also shooting with a different lens so we ended up with different perspectives of the same moments.

Out of curiosity, I was taking pictures with the Nikon D610 using the 70-200 mm lens and he had my old camera, the Nikon D90 with the 35mm.

***

I leave you with some of the photos I took:

15161745871961891011121314

***

Let me know if there’s anything you would like to know in particular, like the settings used or questions you might have about this experience.
Ask away in the comments section, I’m happy to answer! 😉

5 thoughts on “Photographing a music festival”

  1. Stunning shots, the girl’s hair flailing in one of the Evenmore photos especially captures the moment. Also congratulations on such a wonderful opportunity – Vaud is such a great part of Switzerland!

    Like

    1. Thank you very much! The girl of that band had such a great presence on stage, I loved to capture those moments 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Jule, thanks! Most of music festivals look for volunteers to work with them and they often have a photography category for people to apply for. In this case, I was invited by friends who were part of the organization but if you want to try and have the same experience I’m sure you can – just keep an eye on music festival websites 😉

      Like

Leave a comment:

