Practicing to become a better photographer

Practice doesn’t make perfect. What if you’re practicing it wrong? Only perfect practice makes perfect!

I read that quote from Roberto Valenzuela sometime ago and I’ve been thinking about it a lot. So today I would like to share a few thoughts on it.

Practicing is good to improve our skills, but we need to make sure we’re doing it right. I think the best way will be getting to know your camera and lenses very well, so you’ll be able to use the right techniques in all different situations.

20110918_257
Lens: 35mm – Exposure: 1/3800 – Aperture: f/2.8 – ISO: 200

How do you practice your skills?
What I usually do is:

  • Look at lots of pictures on the internet, books and magazines. I try to understand what I like the most on them so I can reproduce those characteristics on my own photography.
  • Go outside of my comfort zone, experimenting different things.
  • Read about photography in blogs and sites, I always learn something.
  • Try to think more in terms of quality than quantity. I like to think about the shot I want to get rather than shooting a dozen of images hoping that at least one will be good.
  • Attend some online workshops and seminars, it’s always good to hear it from the pros!
  • And of course, share my photos here so I can get feedback. That’s also part of the practicing process, right?
Lens: 35mm – Exposure: 1/4000 – Aperture: f/2.8 – ISO: 200

A few things I would like to do to improve my practicing:
– Read the manual of my camera!
– Start using a notebook to write down sudden ideas and inspirations.
– Use friends as models.
– Do workshops in my area and meet more people that share the same passion.

Lens: 35mm – Exposure: 1/2500 – Aperture: f/2.8 – ISO: 200

One last quote that I heard on CreativeLive’s workshop about Lighting Essentials that I think relates with the above:
“Imitate. Assimilate. Innovate.” by Don Giannatti.

6 thoughts on “Practicing to become a better photographer”

    1. We found that place by chance after getting lost in Venice’s neighborhoods 😉

      Like

  1. exactly!I found that you need to have a good tutor in order to have a good learning curve! youtube gurus, books, workshops or just a tête-à-tête. and then: shoot,shoot!
    great photos there 😉

    Like

Leave a comment:

