Watermark and Signature: yes or no?

Lately I’ve been thinking about adding a watermark to my photos (or not). You might have noticed I started to include the link of the blog in some images, in the left side – vertically – with quite some transparency. Here’s an example:

Spring
Lens: 35mm – Exposure: 1/1250 – Aperture: f/1.8 – ISO: 400

This was a test, to see how it looked and to understand if it makes sense or not for me to add this to my images. Let me tell you how I feel about a few things:

  • Generally speaking seeing text on the image kind of disturbs me. I like to look at my photos and not have any extra distracting elements.
  • Of course I could reduce its size and make it so small that I would barely notice it. But if you can’t see it, what’s the point of having a signature then?
  • Why do I want to put a mark on my images? To avoid people stealing it and using it as their own?
  • I guess if someone decided to steal my photos and use them as their own work there are no marks or signatures that would stop them for doing that. Nowadays with Photoshop removing a watermark is a piece of cake. Or simply cropping the image will do the trick.

With that said, there would be no reason for me to tag my photos.

BUT, on the other hand a watermark could be the only way of someone finding me in case one of my photos is exposed somewhere online but there’s no information about me or my blog. That mark would let anyone interested know that I’m the author and where to find me.

So maybe there’s a good reason to have a signature on my photos! 😉
I guess I need to explore some new designs, I will share them here so I can get some feedback.

How do you feel about watermark and signatures?
Do you have one & why (not)?

4 thoughts on “Watermark and Signature: yes or no?”

  1. Good evening 😉
    Well as you probably know am I not using any watermarks – exactly because of the reasons you named above. Watermarks would only make sense if they cover the whole picture to really be sure that nobody will use it. But how disturbing would that be?? But I understand your point that you want to be recognized or found through the watermark…
    Yes, no, maybe?
    I would think that a decent watermark at the outer corner would be totally fine! 🙂

    Like

  2. As for me, watermarks are fine as long as they do not take away from the image (it’s horrible when that happens). I prefer to use branding line though.

    Like

  3. I have gone back and forth on this subject quite a bit, and in the end I’ve chosen to go with a watermark. Not so much for the image protection, but more as way to get my name out there. Even then, I still always try to make sure it doesn’t detract from the image itself. As far as protection goes, I have my copyright information imbedded in my EXIF, which I know can be stripped out as well, and I also resize my shared images to 1024×768 at 72ppi (as opposed to 300ppi). It’s large enough for someone to view it on the web at a good size, but not large enough to really make anything out of it, or publish. If someone tries to crop the water mark out then the image becomes even smaller, and less usable.

    Like

    1. I saw a video last weekend about how to insert the copyright info in the photos using Lightroom and Photoshop. It surely can be easily deleted, but I also started doing it. Your tip about resizing the image is really good! 🙂 Thank you!

      Like

Leave a comment:

