Photographers from Photo Box #7

It’s been a while since my last Photographers from Photo Box post.
I want to continue sharing the photographers featured in this amazing book, but in a different way. I was randomly picking them and basically posting a summary of what’s in the book. I think it would be best to start choosing the ones I like and give you my opinion about what I read there!

So here’s #7: Philippe Halsman

Philippe Halsman / Magnum Photos – Brigitte Bardot, La Madrague, 1955

I find this photo so fun and happy! Impossible not to smile when looking at it.
The funniest part is that when I read the text about it, I discovered the photographer invented a theory on jumping (he called it “jumpology”) and that inspired a series of portraits of famous people jumping into the air! We’re talking about people like Grace Kelly, Marilyn Monroe, Brigitte Bardot, Richard Nixon and the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, for example.

His book Jump was published in 1959:

Click on the image for the book info at magnumphotos.com

Philippe Halsman said once: “When you ask a person to jump, his concentration is mostly directed toward the act of jumping and the mask falls so that the real person appears.”

Curiosity: He escaped to the U.S. in 1940 with his family, guess who helped him with his visa? A friend named Albert Einstein!

you may also like:
PHOTO:BOX, The Book
Photographers from Photo Box #6
Photographers from Photo Box #5

2 thoughts on “Photographers from Photo Box #7

  1. This Xtmas I took some pic of my boyfriend while we was trying to do some jumps on his skateborad.that was cool!I found that you have to be very gracious! lol We was doing weird faces all the time ahah

    Like

  2. Check Susan Hiller’s Levitation! (and also Yves Klein!)
    I have her book and I think the photos are great!!;)
    *

    Like

Leave a comment:

