A camera strap: RS-Sport

Hi there! Hope you had a great weekend!
Mine was quite calm and relaxed. Yesterday I went for a little walk by the stream nearby to take some pictures of the snow and for the first time I used  the Black Rapid camera strap that my boyfriend ordered for him (us ;)) sometime ago.

The one we got is the RS-Sport, however there are a few different models depending on your preferences.

Pictures from the Black Rapid website (click on the image to go there)

Here are the reasons why I prefer this strap to the one that came along with the camera:

  • It is worn diagonally across the torso from shoulder to hip, so the weight of the camera is not on your neck;
  • It has a pad for more comfort;
  • It may seem unsafe, but actually the lock is really strong so the camera rests at your side with the lens pointing away from harm;
  • As they say you just have to “Grab, Glide and Click”, it’s very easy to use!

You can go to the site for more information and here’s a video so you can get an idea of the freedom of movement this strap gives to the photographer:

PS: I will post some of the shots I got later this week =)

you may also like:
A camera bag: The Passport Sling
New little friend

2 thoughts on “A camera strap: RS-Sport

  1. Looks like a pretty handy gadget. I always look at my camera and wonder just how many photographers stick with the stock strap. If I’m out walking around I usually have my camera either hung over one shoulder, or I’ll have the strap wrapped around my hand while I hand carry it. Most of the time I shoot with the strap wrapped around my hand, or just hanging there. It’s very rarely around my neck unless I’m trying to get it out of the way. Maybe something like this is for me. Thank you very much for sharing!

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! Before I have this, I actually removed the original strap from the camera and was just grabbing it on my hands – not very safe… but I couldn’t find a way to use it in a comfortable way. Have you heard about the hand strap (Nikon AH-4 for example)?

      Like

Leave a comment:

