Close-focus experiments

Finally I took some time to try macro shots using my 70-200mm lens and the  remote control! (see links at the end of this post)

Macrophotography means close-up photography, used to capture very small subjects so you must be asking yourself what’s the relation with a 70-200mm lens (mostly used for portraits and in sports).
Well, in fact this particular lens has what is called close-focus capability (not truly macro) which means that I can be at 1 meter from my subject and focus on it at 200mm focal length!

Here are some of my experiments:

closefocus1
Aperture: f/5.6 – ISO: 200
DSC_0018
Aperture: f/11 – ISO: 200
DSC_0005
Aperture: f/2.8 – ISO: 200

Tips:

  • Use a tripod to have your camera still;
  • Use a remote control to prevent any camera movement;
  • Choose a location with lot of light;
  • Set your camera to manual focus.
Aperture: f/16 – ISO: 200

6 thoughts on “Close-focus experiments”

  1. Cool shots! Love the papa smurf hehe. For my macro shots I use my 50mm f 1.8 lens with a reversing ring. The lens mounts backwards, then I put an adapter ring on it with a UV filter so the exposed part of the lens is protected. You have to adjust aperture by hand, and have to focus by moving the camera forwards and backwards, but it’s a really inexpensive macro alternative. I paid about $25 for both of the adapter rings.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the tip! I read about adapter rings once, but it was something different (that you put between the camera and the lens).

      Like

    1. Comprei os meus no Colorado (USA), supostamente são DreamCatcher, sabes? Por isso quando os uso estou protegida lol

      Like

Leave a comment:

