How do you define your own style #5

Go back to your earlier work (as far back as you dare) and observe what you were trying to do. By looking at (and appreciating) your earlier work, you might pick up some clues as to what has inspired you in your life, why you indeed turned to photography at all.

(read the full version here)

I wasn’t able to go too far in time as I would like, since I don’t have with me pictures I took 5 or even 10 years ago. I was often told I had “an eye for photography” and I enjoyed taking pictures from a very young age.

I remember starting to be interested in composition and perspective between 2007 and 2009. At the time I had a Samsung point & shoot camera and I usually carried it with me all the time:

Samsung S1070: the camera I had before I purchased my dSLR.

Looking at some of my photos taken at that time (such as the ones below) I think I was quite aware of the space around me and exactly what I wanted to shoot. I already paid attention to details and composition.

Porto (Portugal), December 2008
London (U.K.), July 2009
Apr2009
Póvoa do Varzim (Portugal), April 2009
Lisbon (Portugal), May 2009
May2009
Lisbon (Portugal), 2009
Lisbon (Portugal), 2009

I am not yet able to find a connecting line between all of them but it’s still an interesting exercise. One thing I noticed is that it is hard to detach myself from the moment and emotion that each image reminds me of, which makes it complicated to look at them in a pragmatic way.

3 thoughts on “How do you define your own style #5”

  1. I really enjoyed all 5 of these posts. It’s a subject that I’ve thought a lot about.

    I’ve read a few things that really try and hammer in the idea that you need to find a specific style and stick to it; like it’s bad to want to shoot anything and everything for the sake of shooting. I understand that line of thinking when you are trying to cater to a market, you don’t want to have landscapes mixed in with your wedding and portrait portfolio for example, but I still have a hard time buying the idea that a portrait photographer can’t be a good landscape photographer too. It’s like an actor or actress being type-casted.

    I’d really like to do more portrait work, and be known for that on the business side of things, but that doesn’t mean that I’m not going to go out and capture the rest of the beauty that the world has to offer. I don’t feel that trying to sell still-life photos should damage my reputation and abilities as a portrait photographer, but a lot of the pro’s suggest that’s the case.

    Just some of my thoughts on it all.

    Like

Leave a comment:

