How do you define your own style? #2

Nothing in this world ever makes sense without a context, it is easy to take the qualities of your work for granted, before having witnessed someone else’s approach. I strongly encourage you to participate in something where you can see your work alongside other people’s.

(read the full version here)

I don’t have my work exposed in an exhibition or featured in a book, however there are other ways to compare it with other people’s and you all know how: social networks! Of course, take a tour around Flickr, 500px, Facebook, Instagram, WordPress photography page, or other sites you know… I like this one and that one for example.

Sometimes when I see a photograph that I really like I keep it in my computer, I have this folder with images taken by other people and from time to time I go thought them trying to find what they have in common and why I like them so much. In a way it helps to define my own style.

Do you also do this or something similar? Share your thoughts.😉

Photo theme: Nature / taken this Summer & Fall

Next step will be: #3 Ask the audience

you may also like:
How do you define your own style?
How do you define your own style #1

11 thoughts on “How do you define your own style? #2

  1. You allude to something that I indulge in often. In photography and writing too. I have found photography and writing a useful way to come across folks with a similar bent of mind. At the same time, it has also helped me to come across folks who I initially thought I would have nothing in common but following their work over time has often led me to rethink my initial hypothesis!

    For example, I’m about to hit the Follow button on your blog; as I think we might share a common virtual language!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment, I appreciate it!
      I will take a look at your blog too🙂

      Like

  2. I keep travel magazines close by, from years ago, and reread them. It’s amazing what stories I am so interested in now as opposed to before. It’s also interesting how much more attention I pay to actually reading the articles and looking at the accompanying photography, versus back then. I also keep a bookmark of photos links and save images on my computer – alot of mine seem to be brightly coloured and of global landscapes. Or streetscapes – I LOVE streetscapes! Thanks for sharing this exercise (I like the image on your third link – so cute!)

    Like

    1. I feel the same with magazines like National Geographic, nowadays I pay much more attention to the relation of the text and images (and to the image itself).
      Yep, I confirm: I can easily connect streetscapes with your blog😉

      Like

  3. Interesting post. I like how you keep a folder of photos you like. I feel that as a photographer you should always allow yourself to be inspired by other people work.

    I feel the same way. I look through my favorites on Flickr and realize they all have a similar style, yet with my own photos I have a hard time seeing it.

    Like

    1. Indeed, it’s also easier for me to find commonalities in photos I like rather than in my own! Thanks for reading and sharing🙂

      Like

  4. Eu tenho uma pasta que se chama “stuff” cheia de imagens desse género. De tempos a tempos, passo para o disco externo e dou uma olhada. É uma “biblioteca visual”. É sp importante a pessoa ter consciência das colecções que faz e porquê. Concordo plenamente com este teu post.

    Like

  5. Ive always loved photography and following other peoples work really inspired me to just get out there and better my self, Ive read that the more you get out there the easier it will be to let your own style find you. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and learning process, it’s really nice to find a blog that is on the same page as me and many others😉

    Like

    1. Hi Rosa! Thank you for your comment, I’m happy to hear that🙂 I will stayed tuned to your blog.

      Like

Leave a comment:

