Fuji x100s

I finally took the time to put together a post about the Fuji x100s!
This is not a technical review or something very detailed, it’s just my opinion on the camera, why I got it and a few examples of photos I already took with it.

***

I got it because I wanted to have a camera that I could carry with me always, my dSLR was too heavy for that and the quality of the images from my phone wasn’t enough. So this Fuji seemed perfect, it’s small but I can still shoot in RAW and control all the settings.

Luckily enough someone I knew was willing to sell me his 1-year old Fuji x100s for a very affordable price :) (thank you once again E. & JM!)

***

I’ve used it for more than two months now and it’s funny how often people see it and say “oh you have an old camera!” – it’s true that from the front it looks like one because of its design and the viewfinder window, but then I turn it around and show them the LCD monitor!

The lens is a 23mm, equivalent to a 35mm on a full frame camera.
The aperture goes from f/16 to f/2.
The ISO values from 200 to 6400.
It’s pretty versatile and the images you get are so sharp, it’s awesome!

Alongside the shutter button you have the exposure compensation and the shutter speed dials, the auto-focus button is on the left side and the rest needs to be set up in the menu of the camera. However, there’s a “Q” (Quick) button on the back that allows you to directly access and change items as ISO, image quality, self-timer, white balance, etc.

***

Below are a few examples of photos I took with this camera, in different situations.
You can click on some of the images, it will take you to posts I did before related to it.

- Landscapes -

- by night -

- Close-up -

- Travel -

- Selfies -

- with Friends -

One of the things I like the most about this camera is that it’s super silent, you can take photos of your friends without having them all turning their heads to you as soon as they hear the “bip” ;)

***

If you’re looking for a small and easy to carry camera close to a dSLR this is a good option.
I hope this post was interesting and helped in some way!

PS: If you want to know more about the leather strap I have for the camera there’s a post here.

15 thoughts on “Fuji x100s

  1. This is actually a good alternative for the dslr. the big ones are really getting heavy after a day of carrying it around.. I thought the whole time your camera was an old analog one and I always wonders how you got them on your computer in such good quality :D

  2. Great choice Ines. I just sold my 5D Mark III for a Fuji X-Pro1 for the exact same reasons you’ve mentioned (too heavy & always on my way). My relationship with DSLRs evolved to the point I now see them as standing between me and my photographic subject – intrusive technological marvels – but heavy and intrusive.

    • Hi André! I see what you mean, but in my case both the dSLR and the Fuji have an important role in my photography work. I use them in different situations :)

  3. Last year, I bought one from B & H. I wanted a camera that would be easy to carry yet would give a decent picture quality. RAW shooting was definitely a plus. Unfortunately, my experience with this camera was disappointing. I am not sure if it was a bad piece I got. The obstructed view in the viewfinder aside (which was not the deal breaker), the picture quality was terrible with unacceptable level of noise. Daytime outdoor pictures were not any better. After about a week of shooting, I sent it back to B&H and they were nice to return it for full refund. It was such a beautifully built camera that I wished it worked for me. I am glad your camera is doing well and the picture quality is good. I might have gotten an odd piece that was a bad camera.

    • That’s too bad :-/ I don’t have any issues with the quality of the pictures, so I guess you were unlucky with the camera you got… Maybe some day you will be able to try it again!

  4. Oui, cet appareil est un vrai bijou et en plus il est très fort. C’est celui qui ne me quitte pas. Mais je conserve mon 5DII qui pour moi est irremplaçable dans certaines situation.
    Je vais suivre ton parcours Inès
    Amitiés
    Alain

  5. J’ai oublié, équipe-le d’un bouton “soft release”: on a une excellente sensation au déclenchement et si tu peux, un paresoleil avec adaptateur de filtre, ça lui donne un super look.

    • Merci pour tes commentaires et suggestions Alain!
      Moi aussi je conserve mon dslr, l’un ne remplace pas l’autre ;)

  6. Hi Ines! I have the same camera! Just bought last May. Great images too! Still learning the ropes though because I got so used to P&S cameras back in the day. This is actually my first “serious” gear. Question, what’s your usual set up for Landscapes? And the photo “with friends” that’s a nice effect! Did you use a filter? Great Blog! :)

    • Hi rbjslimm! Apologies for my late reply to this comment, but I was on vacation not checking my WordPress.

      To answer your questions:
      – I don’t have specific settings for landscapes, it depends a bit on what I want to capture in that moment. For the first photo of the mountains I used the following settings: ISO 200, 1/420 sec, f/16. For the one of the lake: ISO 200, 1/2000 sec, f/4.
      – I edited the last photo “with friends” on Photoshop using a green filter over the image, the blending mode was set to “Soft light” and I reduced the opacity until it looked like what I wanted.
      I hope this helps!

      I checked your blog, you take very nice pictures. I will be following your work from now on :) See you around!

    • No worries, it’s all good! Thanks for the positive words, Ines.

      Cool! I think I really need more time (tons of pictures) to really get the feeling and technical aspect of our camera. So far I’m having so much fun with this beauty. I even bought books about B&W and Portraits to study and learn from the masters and yeah, get Best Practices as well. I love your photos as well!

      Yup, see you around and keep shooting! Enjoy your X! Cheers!
      :)

  7. I saw this on a shop shelf recently and really love its style. I would have to justify the price tag which is up there with a high spec dslr body. Even before I look at how it performs, I think its a real crowd pleaser and a conversation piece. I don’t think you can say that about a chunky dslr. I own a Nikon D7100.

Leave a message.

